If you have a normal chair, those made of wood with a back support, how would you use it to defend yourself?
Submitted March 23, 2026 at 03:49AM by Kaze_Senshi https://ift.tt/pi3PVWq
If you have a normal chair, those made of wood with a back support, how would you use it to defend yourself?
Hi this thought came to me today and I’m just wondering seeing how life is tough and gangs are still up. I never have been beaten before and mostly stayed in the “ normal “ part of the life I know a few that talked about their experiences and I myself only had few altercations where that adrenaline came but it was ended fast without much real kicking or punching. But I am still that naive or how do you call never been through a fight or beat down. And I’m just don’t know what should I do if it ever happens, going into the inner city where both normal people and small gang people and big gang people hang I keep hearing stories in news and from people in my course who live in those ghetto areas about what they seen and how normal it is they even know who killed who and who killed Someone’s that police haven’t caught etc. I just wanted to ask how do people deal with being assaulted by a group or beaten up , because I would water likely go in a depression or struggle hard and jsut do police report and nothing happens , or maybe be tired of life trigger point and try find some of them and hurt them back possibly with knife in anger if the feeling of revenge gets over me. I find it hard to imagine and the anger of wanting to get back at them. But I wanted to ask from those of you who are older and maybe lived double the time and have gathered that life experience
Regular build with 2 guys height is around 6 feet and other are 5 and half feet pretty regular guys but they operate in a gang.
No big or dangerous weapons in hand . I got a batton stick weapon . How should I go about the situation.
Sorry if I’m posting this to the wrong subreddit I’m kinda panicking.
Backstory: I was cleaning my bedroom today and went to return a can of mace to my family kitchen counter when I pressed down on the spray not realizing the safety was off (maybe for a max of 3 seconds). I stayed in the room long enough to put a fan in before spending the next 20 minutes flushing out my nose with saline and half n half (it was all I had) since it was mostly all inhaled and crying while my father laughed at me over the phone because it’s such a dumb situation. Anyways as I was walking to the bathroom I got the can out and put it on the counter and now it got moved to the table (I think my mom moved it, how screwed am I?). Eventually I went back after about 3 hours and took my fan out thinking it was okay before leaving to study. Then I went back to try and sleep (my bed is in front of my window where my fan was with my camera bag, clean cloth on it) but tested my sheets before laying down and I immediately started feeling the burn again. So now after washing the contaminated area I’m sleeping in my family room and I don’t know what to do. Help!
Questions:
- How do I re-clean my room, bedsheets, clothes, backpack, desk, and school supplies?
- And how long do I have to wait until I can be in my bedroom again?
- How long can mace stay on objects?
- How screwed am I?
Hello!
Could you recommend me a spray that makes stray dogs retreat, without harming them too much? I live in Romania, so, if someone could recommend local brands, all the better, if not, I could also buy from outside the country.
I’ve had two pepper sprays given to me by a friend (no idea what brand) and they’ve both fallen off my keychain (one had just the pepper pray itself fall out of the container, the other just unclipped from another plastic part it had)
Do you have any recs for any that will actually stay on my car keys??
One common piece of advice in self-defense situations is to start recording if something feels unsafe.
But I’ve always wondered about one thing: what actually stops the aggressor from just taking your phone and deleting the video?
If someone grabs your phone, breaks it, or forces you to unlock it, the evidence is basically gone.
Are there any good strategies for protecting recordings in situations like that?
For example:
I’ve been thinking about this problem for a while and actually ended up building a small Android app that uploads the video to the cloud while you’re recording, so even if the phone is taken or destroyed the footage is already saved.
Not trying to advertise here — I’m genuinely curious what people here think about this problem and how you would handle it in a real self-defense situation.
My girlfriend is 4'10 and she recently told me that she wants to take boxing classes so she can fight off bad guys. My initial reaction was to be supportive but I am kind of doubtful of this. I think it would be cool for her to learn boxing but I really dont see how it would help in a self defense situation because she is so tiny. I want to support her but I also dont want her to attempt to fight some guy instead of using mace because she takes boxing classes. Any advice is appreciated.
Any techniques which are painful but harmless ?
Mostly for self defence (I get brutally bullied and have been since third grade)
Administration has been no use, cant switch and my mom's a teacher so I cant do anything without coming out
I Practice mma but in most altercations, anything I can do will lead to permanent damage or them losing consciousness
Idk if this is the right place to ask but are there any techniques which are painful but harmless ? They won't lead to permanent damage or visible damage for that matter but still are excruciating enough to keep them off me
I'm new to the idea of getting a taser or stun-gun. Where would I look to learn what factors make one model different from another and the reasons why people pick one over another?
Hi everyone
I train muay thai and bjj and thought i'd be safe because i'm not on the streets where violence happens, i'm safe in my cozy gym. Yeah... It got into 3 quarrels in broad daylight and were lucky. Despite in my country there are a lot of knife violence and like lunatics going beserk with knives killing innocents. I need a few reliable kombos/techniques to drill for defending against a knife with a blunt weapon. YouTube is full of stuff but i do not know who is selling BS and who is legit. Please don't ban me 🥺🥺🥺
What do you prefer ?And which brand do you prefer ?
Plain and simple I’m 33 years old with a beautiful wife and two beautiful boys. Need a shotgun for self-defense might only use it one percent of my life, but if you had to pick and choose, which one are you taking? I keep hearing about what feels best in my hands.?
Hey guys, I've become highly interested in self defense after a scare taking a date through a racist town. I realize I don't have the luxury of lacking the capability to properly defend myself as a man, and have been working on remedying that.
I've spent the last 3 months purchasing and firing thousands of rounds through multiple guns. I've started carrying a concealed firearm daily and can draw, remove the safety and be on target in less than 2 seconds. Now I've also begun carrying pepper spray and Intend on using that by default. You know, that middle step between angry words and drawing a gun, but I do still feel lacking in terms of hand to hand defense.
I'm intending on enrolling in a martial art, but I refuse to do hard sparring. My father got dementia, and I spent the last 5 years taking care of him until his actual dying breath. I watched my pops lose everything, and I simply refuse to intentionally do any activity where someone will be repeatedly punching me in the head full force.
Would martial arts still be a good option for me? It's going to be self defense, but also more. Shooting has also become sort of a hobby for me. I intend to go to the range at least once every month and maybe buy a new gun once a year or so as a treat. But its super practical. I'm hoping martial arts can become something like that for me as well. But it needs to be practical. I need more than just additional fitness and a hobby. I need some practical self defense as well.
Back in the day if someone got in your face, we just dealt with it using our fists. The world is so different now.
I live in the UK in a small town, and whenever me and my wife go out we are yelled at constantly, barked at and called ‘emo’ etc two incidents recently of us being yelled at in a dark walkway by a large group of them in the dark, and today one following on his bicycle screaming ‘fucking emo bitch’ at my wife. For context, we are not even emos, she was dressed in a more flowy white blouse and a black office skirt like any working woman, and I was dressed in jeans and a hoodie but usually I wear a formal black coat. I’ve also been harassed on my own while wearing a normal jacket and jumper. I genuinely don’t know what to do, and I’m scared. I know these boys are probably just doing it to scream, but I’m genuinely afraid to go out as I’m quite small, and I don’t know if it’s better to just ignore them and take it which makes me feel honestly humiliated for not defending my wife I feel so guilty, but I dont want to start an argument and worsen the altercation which I don’t want to be in. Is there any way to ward them off/what to do about them, because I walk everywhere and cannot drive and I’m so tired of it.
There's no shortage or people thinking they're badasses and you can tell by their demeanor. I never waste my time with these kind of people but its something I notice. I don't know if they've won some fights and think too highly of themselves or if they just think so regardless and don't know what they don't know and its the Dunning Kruger Effect. Just curious.
I have been asked to "teach" a class about self-defense to a youth group (girls aged 11-17). An actual self-defense instructor was going to teach it, but they had to cancel. I guess I was asked to step in because they know I box, and a lot of the girls know and like me. (I used to be one of their advisors)
Realistically, I'll only have about 30-45 minutes (maybe less because not all the girls speak English fluently and we'll have to translate). I have gone to self-defense workshops before, but it's been a while. What are some moves I should study up on with a week to prepare? Given the limited time and attention of the girls, I want to demonstrate and teach techniques that are either the most universal, effective, essential, etc.
What moves should everyone, especially every beginner, know?
I grew up around guns, learned gun safety at a young age, and have felt safe around guns for as long as I can remember. Years before I knew my wife, she was a victim of gun violence. Thus, not at all cool with a gun in the house. I completely respect her feelings on the subject, and I don’t have a need or desire for guns, so it’s not a problem for us. However, I’ve often thought about alternatives for self defense. In a gun free home, what would you keep nearby for defense from intruders?
The only reason why I would ever learn martial arts is because of self defense. I don't wanna look good or flex or anything. I just need to defend myself, while being injured the least and protect at the same time my wife. Thanks.
I'm an ectomorph — very thin and tall. Right now, I'm trying to gain some mass, and in the near future, I want to get into martial arts, not for competition, but for self-defense. I've narrowed it down to Muay Thai and Jiu-Jitsu (in case the fight goes to the ground). Is this the right choice? What martial arts would you choose in my place?
Looking for advice. I am going on a solo hike this weekend. I’ve gone on solo hikes before, but I have PTSD and am worried to go alone without my dog. She’s getting older and it’s a 6.5 mile trail. What should I know about self defense? I am very small. Thank you.